When it comes to driving under the influence (DUI), Ohio has a zero-tolerance policy. The state follows the OVI (Operating Vehicle under the Influence) law, which is a legal term for DUI. Here are the Top 10 Facts about OVI in Ohio that you should know:
10 Facts About OVI:
1. In Ohio, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle while impaired by alcohol, drugs, or both.
2. The legal limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08%. If your BAC is above 0.08%, you can be charged with OVI.
3. If you are under 21, the legal limit is 0.02%.
4. You can be charged with an OVI even if your BAC is below 0.08%. The police officer can use other evidence, such as your behavior or performance on field sobriety tests, to determine if you are impaired.
5. If you are pulled over and the officer suspects you are impaired, you may be asked to take a chemical test. Refusal to take a chemical test can result in an automatic license suspension.
6. A first OVI offense can result in up to 6 months in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, and a license suspension of up to 3 years.
7. If your BAC is above 0.17%, you may face more severe penalties.
8. An OVI conviction can also result in the installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
9. If you are convicted of an OVI three times within a six-year period, you may be subject to an indefinite license suspension.
10. If you are convicted of an OVI, you may also be required to participate in an alcohol/drug treatment program.
Need a OVI Attorney?
If you plan to drink and drive in Ohio, it is important to understand the laws and the serious consequences that come with an OVI conviction.If you are in search of an attorney for a recent OVI case our team at Hunt Law LLC has experience to help you during this stressful time. We offer a free consultation at our Warren, OH OVI defense attorneys office, so you don’t have to worry about fees on top of the DUI. Adam Hunt has over a decade of handling OVI offenses in the state of OHIO. Feel free to call us today or fill out our form here.